A Short Post

Just a short post today.  I think it must be the spring weather and the buttercups and tulips, but my mind can’t seem to stop thinking about heirloom sewing and all the beautiful dresses I made for my daughters when they were small.  I still have each and everyone.  I just couldn’t part with them.   My girls are in their thirties now, and when I made their dresses, I always embroidered them by hand.  My how things have changed.  I still love to hand embroider, but I also love to digitize embroidery and since I love heirloom sewing, I am beginning to digitize some of my designs for those of you who own embroidery machines.  Below is a picture of one of the designs.  I have made some improvements in the design since this pillow was made, but I think you can still see how very delicate it is.  I plan to start adding designs to my website next week.

Hope each and every one of you have a beautiful day filled with the pleasures of spring.

4 thoughts on “A Short Post

  1. Kathy , I would love to get the design again as mine was in the room that burned the worst, also i have to make a ring bearer pillow for my sons wedding this May Keep the designs coming ,kathie

    • Not a problem Kathie. Just send me your email address and I will send it to you. Tell me what format you need. I haven’t tested the design and the changes I made, but will do that today.

  2. Kathy, I never had a daughter, but used to design and make wedding dresses looong ago. I loved to incorporate heirloom sewing in those. This pillow is beautiful and makes me want to do some heirloom sewing again. It’s been a long time. Thanks for the inspiration!!

  3. I really don’t have anyone to do this kind of sewing for anymore. It’s very popular still in some areas of the south, but not so much in our area by the new mothers. Now, the grandmothers are a different story. I’m sure the classic look will come back around, things always do. Thank you so much for your comment and visiting my blog.

Leave a Reply

