Little Girl and Little Boy Quacker Quilts

Finally, after all this time, I have taken some pics of the quilts I finished from my two design CDs , Little Boy Quackers and Little Girl Quackers.  These were so much fun to do.  Things for children are always such a pleasure and seem to bring a smile to your face.

I have added the appliques to my website, www.kathydrewquiltingandembroidery.com and you can purchase them as a downloadable set or purchase the indivicual designs as you wish.

The background white fabric on both quilts was cotton peti-pointe pique, which you can purchase from Ginas Bernina here in Knoxville if you can’t find it in your area.  I love the texture of the fabric and the appliques stitched out  beautifully on it.

The appliques are digitized for the embroidery machine and are sewn in the hoop.  On the Little Girl Quacker Quilt, I used some hand dyed fabrics for the appliques and I had a batik that worked beautifully for the sashing and binding.    I like to add So Sheer Interfacing to the wrong side of my applique fabrics to give them some extra body and also to prevent shadowing if parts are positioned over others.  I used Isacord Thread in a size 75 embroidery needle and 60 wt cotton bobbin thread.  You could substitute 60 wt cotton in colors for the needle if you prefer and I digitized the designs with those two thread weights in mind.  When embroidering on woven fabrics, I prefer to use a lightweight tear away stabilizer.  I always use two layers and increase the number of layers according to the thread count of the fabric and the design.  As those factors increase, I add more layers of stabilizer to prevent puckering.

Each design was embroidered on fabric then cut to the block size.  The quilt top was then assembled and quilted free form on my Bernina 830 sewing machine.

The Little Boy Quacker Quilt was done in the same way using various different types of fabric.  I just love my Little Sailor Duck.  He is one of my favorites although I think they are all really kinda special.

 

Don’t hesitate to use these appliques on knits for clothing and they are also adorable on baby blankets.  Be careful though. These Little Quackers are addictive!

Leave a Reply

